12 May 2008

HFEB Update

Transport Secretary Ruth Kelly, stayed away from the vote on the Human fertilisation and Embryology Act. However, other Labour MPs were vocal in their opposition. Geraldine Smith said that removing the need for a father was "one of the most ill-conceived measures to be put before this House while I've been a member of it." Nine Labour MPs voted against the government: Joe Benton (Bootle), Tom Clarke (Coatbridge, Chryston & Bellshill), Claire Curtis-Thomas (Crosby), David Drew (Stroud), Paul Farrelly (Newcastle-under-Lyme), Andrew Mackinlay (Thurrock), George Mudie (Leeds East), Geraldine Smith (Morecambe & Lunesdale), David Taylor (Leicestershire North West).

Read Pink News coverage.

No comments: